Radiation Oncology Physics Residency | | Loyola Medicine

Radiation Oncology Physics Residency

Welcome to the Radiation Oncology Physics Residency Program

The Residency Program in Radiation Oncology Physics at the Loyola University Medical Center (LUMC) is intended to provide comprehensive training in all aspects of clinical physics. Candidate for the training program are expected to have obtained a CAMPEP approved MS or PhD in Medical Physics or closely related discipline and would be highly motivated to prepare for a clinically oriented career. Training will occur at a “stateof- the-art” treatment-facility under the guidance and supervision of an experienced staff including medical physicists and radiation oncologists.


  • High dose rate (HDR) brachytherapy
  • Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS)
  • Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy (SBRT)
  • Total Body Irradiation (TBI)
  • Total Skin Electron Therapy (TSET)
  • Brachytherapy (HDR and LDR)
  • Permanent Prostate Seed Implant
  • Intraoperative Radiation Therapy (IORT) with Zeiss INTRABEAM
  • Eclipse Treatment Planning System
  • ARIA record and verify system integrated with EPIC hospital wide network

Residency Statistics

Year # of  # # Now # Clinical # Academic
  Applicants Accepted Graduated Certified Appointment Appointment
2015 38 1 0 1 ABR Part 1  0 0
2016 0 0 0 1 ABR Part 1 0 0
2017 47 1 1 2 ABR Part 1 0 1

Program Goals and Objectives

Broad areas of clinical training will include equipment calibration and quality assurance, radiation dosimetry, radiation shielding, facility design, special clinical procedures, treatment planning and imaging. The program length is two years.

The physics residency program is fully integrated into the daily clinical operations of the Radiation Oncology Department. The resident works closely with other members of the department: Staff Radiation Oncologists, Medical Physicists, Medical Dosimetrists, Medical Residents, Nurses and Radiation Therapy Technologists. There are ample opportunities to interact with other departments within the LUMC, including Diagnostic Radiology, Interventional Radiology, Surgery and Neurosurgery.

In addition to the clinical training, the resident will receive didactic education in radiation therapy physics and related disciplines.

The residency training program is conducted strictly in accordance with the guidelines from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) Report 249 (Essentials and Guidelines for Clinical Medical Physics Residency Training Programs, AAPM 2013). After successful completion of the residency program, the candidate will have the required knowledge and training to take and successfully complete the American Board of Radiology certification examination in Therapeutic Radiological Physics.

The main goals of the residency program are to

  1. Provide a comprehensive in-depth practical training in all aspects of clinical medical physics, and
  2. Prepare the resident for certification in Therapeutic Radiology/Radiation Oncology physics.

Staff and Resources

Department is staffed with 8 radiation oncologists, 7 medical residents, 1 physics resident, 9 medical physicists, 7 dosimetrists, 6 radiation oncology nurses, department manager, and 22 radiation therapists. The department also has a Radiation Biology faculty member and 3 research nurses.

Equipment includes 4 state of the art Varian linear accelerators with on-board imaging. respiratory gating and VMAT. A new linear accelerator capable of stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) and stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT) began operation in early 2016. It is equipped with OBI/ CBCT, respiratory gating, Align RT positioning/ monitoring, Calypso patient monitor system.

There are two in-house CT scanners (Philips Brilliance Big Bore multi-slice CT scanner) and another Siemens Somatom 4D-CT; several MR scanners in the Department of Radiology (1.5T to 3T) as well as a Phillips PET/CT scanner.

Our Faculty

John Roeske, PhD
Professor & Chief of Medical
Physics Section

Anil Sethi, PhD
Associate Professor &
Residency Program Director

Murat Surucu, PhD
Assistant Professor

Sebastien Gros, PhD
Staff Physicist

Hyejoo Kang, PhD
Staff Physicist

Michael Mysz, MS
Staff Physicist

Ahpa Plypoo, MS
Staff Physicist

Iris Rusu, MS
Staff Physicist

Our Residents

Hossein Lavvafi, PhD
Physics Resident
Graduate School: University of Toledo
Residency: Loyola University Medical Center


Katie Blair
Residency Program Coordinator
Loyola University Medical Center
2160 South 1st Ave
Maywood, IL 60153