Loyola Reverified as Level 1 Trauma Center | Loyola Medicine

UPDATE: Power outages caused by storms have been resolved at Palos Health South Campus, Elmhurst and River Forest outpatient clinics. Palos Health South Campus has resumed appointments as scheduled. Immediate Care at River Forest will reopen today, August 12, 2020, beginning at noon. Appointments at the Elmhurst clinic will resume as scheduled on Friday, August 14.

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Update: Learn More About Loyola Medicine Care During COVID-19.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Loyola Reverified as Level 1 Trauma Center

Medical equipment being handed to doctor in operating room.

MAYWOOD, IL –  Loyola University Medical Center has been reverified by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Committee on Trauma as a Level 1 Trauma Center.

Loyola is the only Level 1 trauma center in Illinois to be verified by the ACS. Verification helps ensure optimal quality care and excellent patient outcomes. Loyola's reverification is for three years.

The ACS verification, review and consultation program helps hospitals evaluate and improve trauma care. It provides an objective, external review of a trauma center’s resources and quality performance. A team of trauma experts completes an on-site review of the hospital. The team assesses relevant features of the program, including commitment, readiness, resources, policies, patient care and performance improvement.
A Level 1 trauma center is a comprehensive regional resource that serves as a tertiary care facility central to the trauma system. A Level 1 center is capable of providing total care for every aspect of injury – from prevention through rehabilitation. Level 1 trauma care requires sustained resources and cooperation among departments, and a broad and dedicated multidisciplinary team.

"We are gratified to receive this reverification," said Richard Gonzalez, MD, FACS, Loyola Medicine's division director of trauma, surgical critical care and burns. "It is recognition of Loyola’s extensive and continuing commitment to caring for our trauma patients."

The ACS is a scientific and education association of surgeons that works to improve the quality of care of surgical patients. The ACS Committee on Trauma strives to improve all phases of care for injured patients.

Loyola's trauma center offers a complete array of medical, surgical and ancillary services through an interdisciplinary program that serves the total needs of the injured patient.

About Loyola Medicine and Trinity Health

Loyola Medicine, a member of Trinity Health, is a quaternary care system based in the western suburbs of Chicago that includes Loyola University Medical Center (LUMC), Gottlieb Memorial Hospital, MacNeal Hospital and convenient locations offering primary and specialty care services from 1,877 physicians throughout Cook, Will and DuPage counties. LUMC is a 547-licensed-bed hospital in Maywood that includes the William G. and Mary A. Ryan Center for Heart & Vascular Medicine, the Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center, a Level 1 trauma center, Illinois's largest burn center, a certified comprehensive stroke center and a children’s hospital. Having delivered compassionate care for over 50 years, Loyola also trains the next generation of caregivers through its teaching affiliation with Loyola University Chicago’s Stritch School of Medicine and Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing. Gottlieb is a 247-licensed-bed community hospital in Melrose Park with 150 physician offices, an adult day care program, the Gottlieb Center for Fitness, the Loyola Center for Metabolic Surgery and Bariatric Care and the Loyola Cancer Care & Research at the Marjorie G. Weinberg Cancer Center at Melrose Park. MacNeal Hospital is a 374-bed teaching hospital in Berwyn with advanced inpatient and outpatient medical, surgical and psychiatric services, advanced diagnostics and treatments. MacNeal has a 12-bed acute rehabilitation unit, a 25-bed inpatient skilled nursing facility, and a 68-bed behavioral health program and community clinics. MacNeal has provided quality, patient-centered care to the near west suburbs since 1919.

Trinity Health is one of the largest multi-institutional Catholic healthcare systems in the nation, serving diverse communities that include more than 30 million people across 22 states. Trinity Health includes 92 hospitals, as well as 109 continuing care locations that include PACE programs, senior living facilities and home care and hospice services. Its continuing care programs provide nearly 2.5 million visits annually. Based in Livonia, Mich., and with annual operating revenues of $18.3 billion and assets of $26.2 billion, the organization returns $1.1 billion to its communities annually in the form of charity care and other community benefit programs. Trinity employs about 129,000 colleagues, including 7,800 employed physicians and clinicians. Committed to those who are poor and underserved in its communities, Trinity is known for its focus on the country's aging population. As a single, unified ministry, the organization is the innovator of Senior Emergency Departments, the largest not-for-profit provider of home health care services—ranked by number of visits—in the nation, as well as the nation’s leading provider of PACE (Program of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly) based on the number of available programs.