Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Loyola University Chicago Dean Named American Academy of Nursing Fellow

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing Dean and Select Alumnae Inducted for Contributions in Nursing Leadership

MAYWOOD, Ill. – Vicki Keough, PhD, APRN-BC, ACNP, FAAN (MSN ’91, PhD ’98), was inducted as a fellow into the American Academy of Nursing Oct. 13 at the Academy’s 39th Annual Meeting and Conference in Washington, DC. Dr. Keough is the dean of Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing (MNSON). She also is a professor at the school and an emergency nurse practitioner at Loyola University Medical Center.

Dean Keough was joined by MNSON alumnae Catherine Catrambone, PhD, RN (’78); Mary Johnson, PhD (’97), PMHCNS-BC (’73); and Janis Miller, PhD, APRN (’88), who also were inducted.

“I am honored to be a member of this esteemed group,” Dean Keough said. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to advance the profession of nursing and improve health care for our nation."

Selection for membership in the academy is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of nursing. The academy fellows represent the nation’s top nurse researchers, policymakers, scholars, executives, educators and practitioners. Dr. Keough was among 176 fellows inducted into the academy. She was named a fellow for her contributions to the field of nursing, which include her leadership as dean of the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing.

The academy is composed of more than 1,800 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research. Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent to which the nominees’ nursing careers influence health policies and well-being.

Dean Keough earned her bachelor of science in nursing with honors from St. Xavier University in Chicago. She went on to complete her master of science in nursing and her doctorate from Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing.

Dean Keough is an accomplished author and researcher whose interests include trauma, emergency nursing, alcohol intervention, nurse burnout and nurse attrition. She also serves as a research peer reviewer for the Illinois Emergency Nursing Association and a reviewer for the Journal of Emergency Nursing and the Journal of Critical Care.

About Loyola University Health System

Loyola University Health System (LUHS) is a member of Trinity Health. Based in the western suburbs of Chicago, LUHS is a quaternary care system that includes Loyola University Medical Center (LUMC), located on a 61-acre campus in Maywood, Gottlieb Memorial Hospital (GMH), on a 36-acre campus in Melrose Park, and convenient locations offering primary and specialty care services throughout Cook, Will and DuPage counties. At the heart of LUMC is a 547-licensed-bed hospital that houses the Center for Heart & Vascular Medicine, the Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center, a Level 1 trauma center, a burn center, a children's hospital, Loyola Outpatient Center, and Loyola Oral Health Center. The campus also is home to Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine, Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing and the Loyola Center for Fitness. The GMH campus includes a 254-licensed-bed community hospital, a Professional Office Building with 150 private practice clinics, an adult day care program, the Gottlieb Center for Fitness, the Loyola Center for Metabolic Surgery and Bariatric Care and the Loyola Cancer Care & Research at the Marjorie G. Weinberg Cancer Center at Melrose Park.

Trinity Health is one of the largest multi-institutional Catholic health care delivery systems in the nation. It serves people and communities in 22 states from coast to coast with 93 hospitals, and 120 continuing care locations — including home care, hospice, PACE and senior living facilities — that provide nearly 2.5 million visits annually.