Thursday, June 24, 2010

Joint Commission Recertifies Loyola as Advanced Primary Stroke Center

MAYWOOD, Ill. -- The Joint Commission has recertified Loyola University Hospital as an Advanced Primary Stroke Center. The recertification recognizes Loyola's role in evaluating and treating acute stroke patients.

The Joint Commission said such certification is awarded to centers "that make exceptional efforts to foster better outcomes for stroke care."

Illinois is among a growing number of states that require or recognize The Joint Commission's certification for designation as a Primary Stroke Center. Loyola was first certified in 2006, and recertified in 2008 and 2010.

"The Joint Commission's accreditation is a recognition of the comprehensive, holistic and multidisciplinary stroke care that we provide to patients and their families 24 hours a day, seven days a week," said Dr. José Biller, chairman of the Department of Neurology at Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that accredits and certifies more than 17,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States.

Since Jan. 1, 2010, the Joint Commission has required Primary Certified Stroke Centers to collect and report on eight quality measures for stroke. These measures are based on established stroke guidelines intended to produce optimal patient outcomes. The measures help put strong clinical evidence into practice. Examples include treating appropriate patients with clot-busing drugs within three hours of the onset of stroke; discharging patients with blood thinners; monitoring patients for irregular heart rhythms that can trigger strokes; prescribing cholesterol-lowering drugs when appropriate; educating patients and their families about stroke and reducing risk factors and providing for patients' rehabilitation needs.

Loyola provides evidence-based specialized stroke care from a multidisciplinary team of stroke experts. Loyola has won the Gold Plus Performance Achievement Award for stroke care from the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

About Loyola University Health System

Loyola University Health System (LUHS) is part of Trinity Health. Based in the western suburbs of Chicago, LUHS is a quaternary care system with a 61-acre main medical center campus, the 36-acre Gottlieb Memorial Hospital campus and more than 30 primary and specialty care facilities in Cook, Will and DuPage counties. Loyola University Medical Center’s campus is conveniently located in Maywood, 13 miles west of Chicago’s Loop and 8 miles east of Oak Brook, Ill. At the heart of the medical center campus is a 559-licensed-bed hospital that houses a Level 1 Trauma Center, a Burn Center and the Ronald McDonald® Children's Hospital of Loyola University Medical Center. Also on campus are the Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center, Loyola Outpatient Center, Center for Heart & Vascular Medicine and Loyola Oral Health Center as well as Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine, Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing and the Loyola Center for Fitness. Loyola's Gottlieb campus in Melrose Park includes the 255-licensed-bed community hospital, the Professional Office Building housing 150 private practice clinics, the Adult Day Care, the Gottlieb Center for Fitness, Loyola Center for Metabolic Surgery and Bariatric Care and the Loyola Cancer Care & Research at the Marjorie G. Weinberg Cancer Center at Melrose Park.

Trinity Health is a national Catholic health system with an enduring legacy and a steadfast mission to be a transforming and healing presence within the communities we serve. Trinity is committed to being a people-centered health care system that enables better health, better care and lower costs. Trinity Health has 88 hospitals and hundreds of continuing care facilities, home care agencies and outpatient centers in 21 states and 119,000 employees.