Internal Medicine Residency

The Unique Features of Loyola's Internal Medicine Residency

Loyola University Medical Center is a 547-bed facility with 24,000 yearly admissions.  Loyola has been recognized as high performing in Cancer, Cardiology & Heart Surgery, Ear, Nose & Throat, Diabetes and Endocrinology, Geriatrics, Gynecology, Nephrology, Neurology and Neurosurgery,  Orthopedics, Pulmonology and Urology by US News & World Report.

Loyola Internal Medicine residents care for an unparalleled patient population, benefit from a personalized learning environment and participate in a comprehensive research curriculum. To fully understand Loyola University's Department of Medicine, you need to visit the campus, talk with our residents and faculty, and experience the atmosphere and culture.

The Department of Medicine has many special features:

  •  "4+1" Scheduling System
  • Expert full-time faculty  truly dedicated to teaching
  • Comprehensive curriculum and conference schedule
  • Intern Boot Camp
  • State-of-the-art facilities
  • Quaternary academic medical center
  • VA hospital and outpatient training
  • Fully integrated EMR for outpatient and inpatient encounters
  • Mock code training 
  • Diverse patient population
  • Great location minutes from downtown Chicago
  • Dedicated research programs for residents
  • Free board review course for PGY3 residents
  • MKSAP provided for every categorical resident
  • Faculty advisor program
  • Annual off-site retreats for each class
  • Internationally recognized transplant programs including bone marrow, cardiac, liver, pulmonary, and renal​

"Loyola University Health System is committed to excellence in patient care and the education of health professionals. The people of Loyola promise patients that we go beyond the illness to treat the whole person. We also treat the human spirit."