You are here

New Health Sciences leader

Stritch School of Medicine

As we continue to work toward the consolidation of LUHS with Trinity Health, scheduled for June 30, much thought has been given to how to optimize the Health Sciences Division of the University for future growth and opportunity. Today, I am pleased to announce a new structure for the division, which includes the Stritch School of Medicine (SSOM) and Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing (MNSON), along with the Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center and several key research programs and initiatives.

The purpose of the new division is to clarify and enhance the University’s academic and research enterprise at the medical center campus and to establish a strong University partner aligned fully with LUHS’ clinical operations and patient care. In fact, I see this structure well-suited for seeding collaboration across the entire Trinity Health system in years to come.

Heading up this new division is Richard L. Gamelli, MD, FACS, current dean of the SSOM, who has been named Senior Vice President and Provost of Health Sciences. The new Health Sciences structure will continue to focus on SSOM and the MNSON, as well as other key academic and research initiatives. They are:

  • Center for Service & Global Health – This center, already in place, supports a service-learning framework for future health-care providers who aspire to improve the health of underserved communities locally, nationally, and globally. The center will move from within the SSOM to the new Health Sciences Division to foster integration and collaboration.
  • Institute for Collaborative Advanced Skill Training – The mission of this institute is to organize the myriad educational learning opportunities happening on campus ranging from simulation education and assessment to interprofessional education and leadership to scholarship, research, and faculty development for greater collaboration and efficiency.
  • Institute of Public Health – A new institute has been created to advance our current public-health initiatives and educate the next generations of public health leaders. This institute will also be instrumental in advancing research by translating effective practices and sound public health policies into evidence-based public health initiatives. Collaboration between faculty in the SSOM, MNSON, and public health will spark the various initiatives coming out of this institute.
  • Neiswanger Bioethics Institute – Dedicated to the three-fold mission of research, education, and service, the institute will widen its current collaboration and interaction with the Health Sciences Division to include our Trinity partners.

To advance our shared commitment with Trinity on research, Richard H. Kennedy, PhD, health sciences vice president for research and associate dean, Graduate School, has been named Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Programs. Acting as Interim Dean for SSOM will be Linda Brubaker, MD, MS. Vicki A. Keough, PhD, will continue in the key role of Dean of the MNSON. We envision a higher degree of interaction and collaboration between the two schools and among various research efforts thanks to the new organization. Other key appointments within Health Sciences will be announced in the near future.

Dr. Gamelli has served as senior vice president of Loyola University Health System and dean of the SSOM since 2009. He is a distinguished surgeon, current chief of Loyola’s Burn Center, and a world authority on the care of burn wounds and burn research. He joined Loyola in 1990 as chief of the Burn Center, founder and director of the Burn & Shock Trauma Institute, and he has served as chair of the Department of Surgery.

Dr. Keough has served as dean for the MNSON for the past 14 months and as interim dean six months prior. She has been with the School of Nursing for 20 years, including six years as the associate dean for MSN programs prior to becoming dean. She is also a professor in the Department of Disease Management and Risk Reduction. Dr. Keough began the first Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program in the midwest at Loyola’s MNSON and the first Emergency Nurse Practitioner Program. Dr. Keough serves on the Council of Deans, the Board of Undergraduate Studies, and the Faculty Senate Task Force.

Dr. Kennedy began his career at Loyola in 2004 as the senior associate dean for research and professor of physiology and pharmacology. Dr. Kennedy has served in many prestigious academic roles here at Loyola and is a professor in the Department of Physiology. Prior to his Loyola recruitment, he served as the dean of the graduate school at the University of Arkansas. He serves on the Financial Planning Advisory Council/Health Sciences Operations and the Information Technologies and Emergency Management Strategic Planning Committees of LUHS.

Dr. Brubaker is the senior associate dean of clinical and translational research and vice-chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. She is a well regarded reconstructive pelvic surgeon and NIH-funded researcher. She was recruited to the SSOM in 2000, where she has served as a faculty member and administrator. She is a professor in the departments of obstetrics and gynecology and urology, and the director in the Division of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery.

We are very excited about this partnership with Trinity, and the opportunities it presents both for the University and Trinity. The new Health Sciences Division is reflective of our shared commitment around medical research, education, and patient care and will provide a structure that better aligns, organizes, and leverages our Health Sciences’ schools, centers, institutes, and research operations within Loyola University Chicago.


Michael J. Garanzini, S.J.
President, Loyola University Chicago

Media Relations

Health Sciences Division
Joseph Pixler
Health Sciences Division